Wednesday, July 7, 2010

VA - Legends of the Blues, volume One

This CD serves as a perfect introduction to pre-war blues for the novice since it contains fine examples of the music of 20 blues artists: Bessie Smith, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Mississippi John Hurt, Blind Willie Johnson, Bo Carter, Blind Willie McTell, Lonnie Johnson, Charley Patton, Leroy Carr, Josh White, Leadbelly, Peetie Wheatstraw, Robert Johnson, Blind Boy Fuller, Big Bill Broonzy, Memphis Minnie, Bukka White, Muddy Waters, Big Joe Williams and Son House. Four selections are from the '20s, Son House's "Death Letter" is from 1965, and otherwise the music dates from 1931-1947. The who's who roster includes practically every early great (Tampa Red is missing but Washboard Sam and the first Sonny Boy Williamson appear as sidemen) and, with nine previously unreleased selections (both alternate takes and "new" performances), this CD is an essential purchase for both beginning and veteran collectors alike. ~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide

01. St. Louis Blues - Bessie Smith
02. Match Box Blues - Blind Lemon Jefferson
03. Ain't No Tellin' - Mississippi John Hurt
04. Lord, I Just Can't Keep from Crying - Blind Willie Johnson
05. Pig Meat Is What I Crave - Bo Carter
06. Southern Can Is Mine - Blind Willie McTell
07. Low Down St. Louis Blues - Lonnie Johnson
08. Revenue Man Blues - Charley Patton
09. Stormy Night Blues - Leroy Carr
10. I Believe I'll Make a Change - Josh White
11. Fort Worth and Dallas Blues - Leadbelly
12. Sweet Home Blues - Peetie Wheatstraw
13. Stop Breakin' Down Blues - Robert Johnson
14. Truckin' My Blues Away, No. 2 - Blind Boy Fuller
15. Spreadin' Snake Blues - Big Bill Broonzy
16. Nothing in Rambling - Memphis Minnie
17. Fixin' to Die Blues - Bukka White
18. Hard Day Blues - Muddy Waters
19. Don't You Leave Me Here - Big Joe Williams
20. Death Letter - Son House


No comments:

Post a Comment