Friday, June 18, 2010

Sonny Boy Williamson (I) - Throw a Boogie Woogie

Eight indispensable Bluebird sides dating from 1937-38 -- right at the very beginning of his reign as king of blues harpists -- that display precisely why Williamson was such a revered innovator (and continues to be even now). Highlights include his classic &"Good Morning School Girl" and "Sugar Mama Blues." He shares the disc with itinerant rambler Big Joe Williams, whose eight 1937-41 selections include six featuring Sonny Boy playing harp behind the nine-string guitarist. -Bill Dahl, All Music Guide

1. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
2. Sugar Mama Blues
3. Got the Bottle Up and Gone
4. Early in the Morning
5. Black Gal Blues
6. Moonshine
7. Whiskey Headed Blues
8. You Give an Account
9. Rootin' Ground Hog
10. Brother James
11. Peach Orchard Mama
12. Crawling King Snake
13. Highway 49
14. Please Don't Go
15. North Wind Blues
16. Throw a Boogie Woogie

hot jazz and cool blues


1 comment:

  1. links are dead... *sniff* really sorry i missed this... thanks anyway...